Nanoparticles win prestigious ASPIRE prize at 3MT! | Aspire

Nanoparticles win prestigious ASPIRE prize at 3MT!

Year 10 students from ASPIRE partner high schools Punchbowl Boys High School, Chester Hill High School, Granville South Creative and Performing Arts High School were the special guest judging panel at UNSW's 2017 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition.

Twenty-two of UNSW's talented PhD and Research Masters candidates were given just three minutes to explain their research topic and why it is important. ASPIRE students voted on the person they thought gave the most engaging and informative talk.

UNSW's Chancellor, David Gonski, and UNSW’s President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Jacobs took time out to talk with the ASPIRE students before Mr Gonski warmly welcomed them in his opening address.

This year’s lucky winner of the $500 ASPIRE prize was UNSW Engineering student Jonathon Horlyck for his presentation: “Strength in Numbers: Solving global warming with the power of nanoparticle technology’.

Alice Russo, from the UNSW BABS - School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences won the main prize of $3000 cash for her presentation on finding a virus to control the population of cane toads.

You can see highlights from the event here…

It was great to see ASPIRE students so excited about participating in a different side of university they don't often get to see. The range of talks on such diverse topics opened their eyes to the treasures of indepth research and the benefits it can bring to solving world challenges.